Every state has its own car insurance system. Some are fault based, others are modified fault based and 12 states follow a no fault car insurance system. Hawaii’s system fits in the latter category. Many people don’t understand how a no-fault system really works and what steps to take to make sure that your medical bills and property damage are covered. Here are some quick tips to better understand Hawaii’s no-fault car insurance system:
It’s important to understand that while the minimum PIP you’re required to be covered for in Hawaii is $10,000, you can step out of the system once you’ve reached the $5,000 limit. This aspect of Hawaii law can be very confusing, but an experienced Hawaii car accident attorney can explain how this would apply to your situation.
Once an insurance company settles a claim, you cannot go back for more. Too many times, injured victims rush through the process to get a settlement and then end up facing additional complications from the accident, requiring more treatment and expense. So, patience is a virtue here. It’s important to make sure you receive all the medical care needed. It’s better to wait, make sure you’ve been fully treated and get compensation for everything you are entitled to.
Regardless of what type of insurance is involved, it’s very likely that the insurance companies involved will try to pay you as little as possible, if anything at all. Contrary to their television ads, insurance companies generally do not act “like Good Neighbors” or have you “In Good Hands.” They report to their shareholders who want to see profits and, simply put, paying out claims goes against that.
An experienced Hawaii car accident lawyer knows how insurance companies operate and can help you to level the playing field by:
The bottom line is that insurance companies know which law firms won’t back down and will do whatever it takes to get a legitimate claim paid. Insurance companies have teams of attorneys representing their best interests; make sure you’ve got someone to represent yours.